Time Away From Work

Time Away From Work

Time Away From Work

Requesting Time Off from Work

If you need time off from work, the PeopleMatter app must be used.  You may offer your requested shift(s) and once an available employee accepts the shift and a manager approves it, you will be notified via the app.  If you do not have a smartphone, this can also be done by logging into your PeopleMatter account on any tablet, mobile device or computer.

Time Away From Work

Worker's Compensation

Canton Car Wash provides workers' compensation insurance as required by Maryland law.

Any injury or illness arising out of or in the course of employment must be immediately reported to management. These reports are necessary to comply with laws and to initiate benefit procedures. Failure to immediately report such incidents may result in the loss of some or all of your benefits.

Time Away From Work

Jury Duty

Jury duty


If you are called for jury duty, please provide your supervisor with a copy of your notice and verification from the county clerk when jury duty has been served.

Jury duty leave is unpaid (except that full-time exempt employees will receive pay for any partial-week absence but not for any full week absences). Benefits will be continued while on jury duty.


Time Away From Work

Funeral Leave

Team members who have had a death in their immediate family will be granted unpaid leave not to exceed three days unless otherwise approved by management.

Immediate family includes:
Current spouse, parent, stepparent, parent-in-law, stepparent-in-law, grandparent, child, stepchild, child-in-law, grandchild, sibling, step-sibling.

Notify management of all time needed as soon as possible. Deaths outside of the immediate family will be handled on a case-by-case basis.

Time Away From Work

Sick Leave



Canton Car Wash abides by Maryland's Paid Sick and Safe Leave Act.  

Eligible employees are entitled to accrue up to a maximum of forty (40) hours of paid sick and safe leave each calendar year. Eligible employees include employees who regularly work more than 12 hours per week and are 18 or older.  Sick and safe leave accrues at the rate of one hour of sick and safe leave for every thirty (30) hours worked.  You are not permitted to use sick and safe leave during the first 106 calendar days of your employment.  Sick and safe leave can be used in increments of one (1) hour or more.  We will provide you with notice of your sick and safe leave balance on your paystub.

Further information on usage and accrual are noted in the handbook or you can see your HR Manager.

Time Away From Work

FMLA (Family and Medical Leave)

FMLA allows for up to 12 weeks of unpaid, job-protected leave in a 12 month period to eligible employees for certain reasons.

Reasons include:

  • Incapacity due to pregnancy, prenatal care or child birth
  • Care for employee's child after birth or placement for adoption or foster care
  • Care for employee's spouse, son, daughter, or parent who has a serious health condition
  • Serious health condition that makes employee unable to perform their job

Eligibility is as follows:

  • Work for employers for at least 12 months
  • Have 1,250 hours of service in the previous 12 months
  • At least 50 employees are employed by employer within 75 miles.

FMLA also includes permission of up to 26 weeks of leave to care for a covered service-member during a 12 month period.

Conditions are further laid out in the Employee Handbook.