Online Marketing- Overview

During this course you will learn:

  1. What digital marketing is
  2. The benefits of digital marketing
  3. The different jargons important to 99acres
  4. How to calculate CTR, CPM and CPC
  5. The difference between SEO and SEM

Digital Marketing - Introduction

What is digital marketing?

“Digital marketing” is the process of building and maintaining customer relationships through online activities to facilitate the exchange of ideas, products, and services that satisfy the goals of both parties.

In lay man's language: Getting found online

Key Components of digital marketing

Key components

  • Website design (user experience)
  • Search engine optimization (SEO)
  • Pay per click (PPC)
  • Social media marketing (SMM)
  • Email marketing
  • Display advertising (banner ads)
  • Affiliate marketing
  • Content marketing
  • Online reputation management (ORM)

Benefits of digital Marketing

There are many benefits of digital marketing

Over traditional marketing *

  • Puts the consumer in control 
  • Provides convenience
  • Increases satisfaction
  • Drives brand loyalty
  • Reduces the selling cycle
  • Reduces the cost of sales
  • Builds your brand
  • Provides targeted results
  • It is measurable 
  • Cost-effective

Digital Marketing in 99acres

Digital Marketing jargon used in 99acres

What is an impression?

Impression sometimes called a view or an ad view is a term that refers to the point in which an ad is viewed once by a visitor. 

The number of impressions of a particular advertisement is determined by the number of times the particular page is viewed. 

An impression is an estimate of the number of people a particular advertisement is reaching.

Here is what an impression looks like

Select if the below statement is true or false.

An impression happens only when the user clicks on the page or advertisement

  • True
  • False

What is a click?

A click is just that. A click. 

It is the actual number of times someone takes their cursor, places it on an ad and uses their mouse to click on the ad in order to be taken to a landing page. 

Here is what a click looks like

Select if the below statement is true or false.

When a user performs a click, they are redirected to your website.

  • True
  • False

What is a re-targeting campaign?

A retargeting campaign (also known as behavioral remarketing, or simply, retargeting) is a form of online targeted advertising by which ad is targeted to viewers based on their previous Internet actions.

Retargeting tags users by including a pixel within the target ad, which sets a cookie in the user's browser. Once the cookie is set, the ad is shown to that user elsewhere on the internet via an ad exchange.

Here is what a re-targeting campaign (Omni Ad) looks like.

A few more metrics you should be aware of



Click through rate or Efficiency of an Ad in percentage

How is it calculated?

Number of clicks/Impressions x 100


Out of 2,50,000 impressions, there were 5,000 clicks

The CTR is 5,000/2,50,000 x 100=2%



Cost per click, a basic unit of pricing for any digital ad.

How is it calculated?

CPC= Cost/Clicks = 50,000/5,000=Rs. 10 per click



Cost per 1,000 impressions. This is the basic pricing metric for any digital ad.

How is it calculated?

If I was charged Rs. 50,000 for 2,50,000 impressions, what is my CPM?

Cost of 1 impression= 50,000/2,50,000 = 20p


Cost of 1000 impressions (CPM)= 20p x 1000=Rs. 200


SEO (Search Engine Optimization)

SEO is the process of optimizing your website for the purpose of getting free traffic from search engines.

  • Google crawler indexes the website's landing page in due course of time
  • Google decides the relevancy of a search query with reference to the indexed landing page
  • Organic results show multiple site links for a result only for few search queries. We have very little control over this.

SEM (Search Engine Marketing)

SEM is the marketing process with a goal of getting more visibility in search engines either by getting more free traffic (SEO) or paid traffic

  • We have full control of what landing page should or should not be promoted.
  • We have higher control on choosing search queries for our landing pages
  • We have full control on what site links would show up and where the user should land.

Difference between SEO and SEM